June 22

3 years ago today I was able to walk out of a mental hospital, still alive and breathing. A week before that, I attempted to take my own life. During my 5 day stay at the hospital, I was diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder and Social Anxiety. My life was changed after my diagnoses because then it all made sense. Things started connecting. I immediately started outpatient therapy. 
In 2017, I went back to the mental hospital, but I still consider June 22, 2014 my first day of recovery. Why? Because that’s the day when my life started. I knew what I needed to do to stay alive now and being in therapy was one of those things. I started taking antidepressants and trying to turn my life around. 

So I want to thank all of you who have put up with me during not only all these years, but especially the last 3 years. It’s been a rollercoaster ride of finding the right medications, the right therapist, in group therapy, out of group therapy, losing friends but making new friends… Recovery is not all candy and rainbows and unicorns. It’s hard work and I couldn’t be doing it without all the support, so thank you. ❤️

One thought on “June 22

  1. I’m am so glad you have found a way and share your story. Last year i almost lost my mother. She was in the ICU for 6 months.My brother is 17, my mothers health is what sparked my brothers actions cause he is Co dependant on her. Shortly after mom went into the ICU, last year my brother almost successfully took his own life. He has Aspergers and his intelligence is mind blowing. He sounds like a professor when he talks. I love my little brother to the moon and back. He still struggling with wanting to be alive. He has hardly any friends cause he is so different. He was bullied in school and they live in the boonies where he is not interested in outdoor activities. He’s a gamer and he wants to be a writer when he gets his first job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

