Open Letter To Those Who Bullied Me

Remember me?

The shy girl.

You pushed me around, pulled my hair, threw paper balls at me, mocked me, pulled at my belt loops, blamed me for things that you did because you knew I wouldn’t speak up for myself, called me names behind my back, started rumors about me…

I’m still here. I’m talking now, and I need to tell all of you one thing:

I forgive you.

Why? Because you made me strong.

I wouldn’t know what strength it took to get me through those days had you not bullied me. I’m not condoning what you did, and I never will.

I know you must have bullied me because you were so insecure of yourself… Right? I didn’t do anything to you, so the problem was definitely you. So I forgive you.

I hope you’re well, and I hope your life is all you wanted it to be. Mine’s not. I battle with major depression and extreme anxiety. The same anxiety that you used to bully me for.

To the people that bullied me at jobs, you are childish, but I forgive you. I learned a lot from you. I learned not to trust anyone. Because of you, I only trust one person in my life.

I have just enough strength now to realize  that trusting people is not on my agenda for my life.

Why do I forgive you? Because I want to be forgiven. Not by you, but by God. I’m tired of resting on these thoughts that maybe I did something to deserve all the ridicule. I didn’t do anything. I did nothing to deserve what you did to me.

Stop bullying others now that I’m out of the picture! 

What goes through your mind when you bully people? Is it a sense of happiness, regret, insecurity? You made me feel like dirt on the ground… But yet I forgive you.

Thank you for making me stronger, even though I didn’t realize it at the time. 

I hope it was all worth it for you…

Leave a Reply

